Indie Overload

17 Nov

I am not a huge fan of indie music. And I have the overwhelming urge to punch every hipster I see in the face. Call it the militant punk in me. And, yes, there is one. However, I am a fan of a handful of bands who are in the so-called British Indie genre. So today, I made a playlist of the following albums:

    Franz Ferdinand – Franz Ferdinand
    Arctic Monkeys – Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not
    The Last Shadow Puppets – The Age Of The Understatement
    The Libertines – The Libertines
    Franz Ferdinand – You Could Have It So Much Better
    Franz Ferdinand – Tonight:
    and a handful of stray songs by The Smiths and Oasis

Well, I must say that I truly did enjoy what I heard. It was a bit repetitive in parts, but any genre can get repetitive, no matter how many different artists you have. I still think hipsters are idiots and they all need a good punch in the face.

But aside from this, I do feel I learned something about this particular type of music.

    The Smiths are probably the best band I’ve never heard of.
    Even if Liam and Noel Gallagher are something of a punchline, their music is pretty good.
    Like most bands, Franz Ferdinand are better live.
    Alex Turner’s voice can make my brain stop working. …/fangirl moment

Anyway, that’s my stance on indie. I’m working on a list of the 50 Punk Songs You Must Hear Before You Die (Or Grow Up). Expect it sometime next month.

3 Responses to “Indie Overload”

  1. bono212 17/11/2009 at 07:06 #

    You make me cry indie tears.

  2. SLCPunk 17/11/2009 at 07:07 #

    :therethere:

  3. chels82 28/11/2009 at 21:21 #

    Ahem…might I suggest some Blur? Especially their first two albums, Leisure and Modern Life is Rubbish…it’s not as poppy.

Leave a Reply

