Lisztomania!

17 Nov

As I mentioned, I believe, once already, I do so love making lists.  I promise this won’t be an all the time sort of thing, but maybe once or twice a month…week…day…hour…we’ll see!
So to start things off, and to perhaps give a better idea of who I am and what my tastes are in general, I’m going to share with you my top 15 favorite artists, and maybe a bit more info about that as well.
And for the hell of it, let’s count DOWN shall we?

15.  Pink Floyd

What is there to say? One highly influential band, one fantastic album.  And really it is only one album of theirs that I truly love, thus their low placement on my list.  The Wall is undeniable.  The Wall is beautiful.  The Wall, is a fucking long album and it is rather hard to listen to it, since you just HAVE to do so in one sitting.
Favorite Album: Duh?  The Wall
Favorite Track: “Comfortably Numb”

14. Crowded House

My crazy Aussie friends have one thing right, and that is that the Crowdies are pretty fantabulous.  And while they currently do rank 14th for me overall, they are quickly climbing the “charts”.  From drunken forays into “Mean to Me” karaoke, to deeper moments with “Private Universe” as background music, Crowded House seems to have a song to fit all of my many moods.
Favorite Album: Together Alone
Favorite Track: “Can’t Carry On”

13. R. E. M.

They’re kind of given on any list.  How can you not like R.E.M.?  I demand an answer to this question.  I still remember those first couple of years when I really began to get into music, R. E. M. and their strange music videos were the perfect accompaniment to these new adventures (in Hi-Fi?).
Favorite Album: Automatic For the People
Favorite Track: “Find the River”, though I could easily have made a top ten list of favorite tracks.

12. The National

The National would likely rank higher on my list if it weren’t for the fact that I only seem to be able to enjoy them during the summer months.  Once autumn rolls on in, their music suddenly displeases me for no reason I can honestly understand.  Deep, moving lyrics, behind some fantastic music make The National a band that just seems to get better and better.
Favorite Album: Boxer
Favorite Track: “Abel”

11. Dave Matthews Band

These guys!  Oh man, what a guilty pleasure.  One day, I hope very soon, I will see them live, and then I will have more to report on.  One of my greatest regrets is not seeing them in concert before Leroi passed away, a mistake that has made me realize that if opportunities come your way, you should take them, because you don’t know what tomorrow will bring.  Some of the music that has been most important in my life has come from DMB.  Going through my old burnt CDs from yesteryear, I don’t believe there is a one without a representation from Dave & Co.
Favorite Album: Probably influenced by its “new-ness”, Big Whiskey and the GrooGrux King
Favorite Track: “Crash Into Me”

10. Our Lady Peace

I could blame this one on 90s nostalgia, if only I’d liked the band in the 90s.  Unfortunately, I just like OLP.  What can I say?  There’s nothing all that spectacular about them, but I get a bit of a rush whenever I listen to their music anyways.
Favorite Album: Spiritual Machines
Favorite Track: “Angels/Losing/Sleep” (Though like R.E.M., I could easily rattle off about ten more)

9. Meat Loaf

Meat Loaf! Did I say DMB was my biggest guilty pleasure? I retract that statement.  This is a guy that should just NOT be able to be as good as he is.  And yet, he’s The MEAT!  Somehow he’s managed to keep unleashing that bat from hell time and again, and it always seems to work.
Favorite Album: Bat Out of Hell
Favorite Track: Easily “I’d Do Anything For Love (But I Won’t Do That)”.

8. David Bowie

Respect the man, respect the voice, respect the acting abilities, respect the eyes.  This guy has it all and so much more. Give us some more music Bowie!
Favorite Album: Low
Favorite Track: “Heroes”

7. The Rolling Stones

Personally speaking, the worst albums band of all time.  I don’t even find the “Big Four” all that fantastic, and yet, somehow, they continue to be on of my favorite bands.  It’s those singles.  They are absolute.  Crossing generations to remain just as popular today as ever.
Favorite Album: Beggars Banquet
Favorite Track: “Gimme Shelter”

6. Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers

God, I hate not having these guys in my top five, but I love those bands so very much as well.  Tom Petty is, in my opinion, the single-most underrated artist of all time.  Thrown in the “Classic Rock” bin, and easily discounted, he has written some of the most moving, most touching music I have ever heard in my life.  Do yourself a favor and check out an actual ALBUM of his/theirs sometime, you won’t regret it.
Favorite Album: Full Moon Fever
Favorite Track: “Insider”

5. Peter Gabriel

Oh how the mighty have fallen, once my second favorite act of all time, somehow the poor guy keeps slipping down the charts, which just tells me that there is still a great amount of music out there for me to discover, no slight against Mr. Gabriel (though perhaps he’d climb back up the charts if he’d release something new!).  Quirky, there’s no other way to describe him, he manages to stay relevant through it all, even when only releasing a new album every 9, 10, 11 years or so.
Favorite Album: 4/Security
Favorite Track: “Games Without Frontiers”

4. The Killers

The first CD I ever bought on a whim, after hearing only one or two tracks, the first CD I ever really jammed out to in my first car, the first CD of a band I hope will last for a long, long time.  The Killers are synthpop at its best, and I hope they remember that before it’s too late.  Let’s get back to basics guys, the “Four Winds” cover gives me great hope that they will someday return to that oh so wonderful sound Hot Fuss brought us.
Favorite Album: Hot Fuss
Favorite Track: “Read My Mind”

3. The Cure

How to best describe my love of Robert Smith & Co.  They’re a recent addition to my top 15, it hasn’t even been a year yet since I first heard Disintegration.  I at first thought placing them so highly on my list would prove to be a rash decision, but, I don’t think you listen to a band 1,700 times in one year if you don’t like them a great deal.  And I DO like them a great deal.  Personally, I think they’re still a relevant, and wonderful band, and the material they put out is just as good now as it was in the heyday of the 80s.
Favorite Album: Disintegration
Favorite Track: “Just Like Heaven”

2. Bruce Springsteen

The Boss!  How can you deny the career of Bruce Springsteen? Active since the 70s, he’s STILL putting out chart topping albums, with no signs of stopping.  The greatest live act of all time, a powerful voice, life-changing lyrics, the ability to write the greatest of songs again and again and again, you just have to wonder if it will ever come to an end.
Favorite Album: Born to Run
Favorite Track: “I’m on Fire”

1. U2

I could write a 128839823 word essay, but you don’t have time for that, dear reader, so I’ll keep it brief.  As 2000 came winding down, I first witnessed the performance of an Irish band I had never heard of, it changed my life, and that is no exaggeration.  Because I fell in love with U2, I met some of the greatest friends I have ever had, and I met the most important person in my life.  They’ve been the soundtrack to my life, if I may be cheesy for a moment, and they’ve been there for me, musically at any rate, at my lowest moments.  U2 could never release a song I like again, and they will still, and always will, remain my #1.
Favorite Album: The Unforgettable Fire
Favorite Track: “The Unforgettable Fire” (Shamelessly promoting my own youtube vid 😉 )

So there you have it, 15 bands, 15 albums, 15 tracks, hope you enjoyed.  There will be more of this in future, I’m sure.

3 Responses to “Lisztomania!”

  1. danny 17/11/2009 at 12:14 #

    1. the wall kind of blows
    2. so, so much respect for your #9!!

  2. bono212 17/11/2009 at 14:57 #

    1. You are no longer my friend :tsk:
    2. Ok, I forgive you.

  3. SLCPunk 18/11/2009 at 04:27 #

    I agree with 8 of your selections.

Leave a Reply

