Random Rant of the Week: Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers

29 Nov

This is something probably best suited for being drunk.  Unfortunately, though my Horned Frogs did pull off an undefeated season for the first time in like 70 years, I am not drunk, so I’m going to have to do this stone sober.

What’s that, you ask?  It’s time to give a band their place in the Sun.  It’s time to shine a light on a band all too easily dismissed.  It is time to make you F***ing Respect Tom Petty.  All too often I see this band bundled into the classic rock category and thrown into the dust bin of dad rock.  No longer!  I demand recognition for what has been one amazing career.


These are some straight up sexy men right here.

Evidence?  You ask for evidence?  Here’s one, my favorite Tom Petty song, “Insider”:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bkhQLukwuYs < Sorry, embedding’s been disabled, but clicking that link is going to make your life, I promise.  Or, if not, maybe at least show you that Tom Petty has the ability to write some of the most touching, moving music I have ever heard in my life.

So maybe now your argument is that he’s got a collection of great singles, and that’s it.  I agreed for the longest time.  I owned Greatest Hits and thought I didn’t need to know anymore than that.  I mean, those songs are a piece of art in and of themselves.  Then I went ahead and bought Full Moon Fever.

This album, while a solo work, was created with most of the Heartbreakers, as with almost all of Petty’s solo material.  On here you’ll find what are some of his best known works, “Free Fallin'”, “Runnin’ Down a Dream”, “I Won’t Back Down”, etc.  but there is literally not a bad song on this album.  A great introductory piece into what Tom can do with a whole album’s worth of music.

But maybe you prefer Tom Petty & Co.’s earlier work, no problem, then Damn the Torpedoes is the one for you.  Including the hits “Refugee”, “Don’t Do Me Like That”, “Even the Losers”, and “Here Comes My Girl”, this is a great example of the edgier sound that most people probably remember most about The Heartbreakers.

I could go on listing material, but the point here is that, fugliest rocker though he may be, Tom Petty has a heart and soul made for music, and it is unleashed in a way that I will never believe can’t be understood by the masses.  Give his work a chance, these are just introductory pieces, but looking deeper has proved, at least to me, to be a most fruitful venture.

Next Step Album:
Wildflowers – Another solo album, this dealing with a rather emotional divorce that Tom Petty was going through at the time, and very close to being my favorite record by the man

And of course, if you want more of that early edgy Petty, hit up Long After Dark. Not his best work, by any stretch, but it’s a lot of fun.


3 Responses to “Random Rant of the Week: Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers”

  1. SLCPunk 29/11/2009 at 06:38 #

    ❤ Tom Petty. I have Full Moon Fever myself, though my favourite song of his is "American Girl". And "Last Dance With Mary Jane".

  2. SLCPunk 30/11/2009 at 05:40 #

    ASHLEY! Did you see the story on Tom Petty in CBS Sunday morning this morning? It was very cool. He’s a very cool guy. My mom gave me her Traveling Wilburys CD. WIN.

  3. bono212 30/11/2009 at 05:44 #

    No I didn’t! I hope it was great. He’s a wonderful guy, though it’s kind of hard to understand what he’s saying sometimes XD.

    I STILL haven’t heard a whole Traveling Wilburys album :reject:

Leave a Reply

