Best of 2009: An apology and 60-51

21 Dec

I’m feeling kind of crap and tired from working 10.5 hours today, so I’ll be a bit brief today.  I’m also just not quite feeling the urge to write anything about 60-51, so I’m just going to post them, and I don’t have much at all to say about them, hope that can be forgiven.

60. Volcano Choir – Unmap

I’m probably giving Justin Vernon too much of the benefit of the doubt with this ranking, but I feel like maybe somewhere hiding in this jumble of experimentalism is the beauty I remember from Bon Iver.

59. Here We Go Magic – Here We Go Magic

I feel like I can see where they were trying to go with this album, maybe a bit of an Animal Collective direction? But they never quite seem to make it.  As this is a debut album, I see a lot of potential in their future if they can just hammer down a sound.

58. Dirty Projectors – Bitte Orca

Eh, if you like this, I’m happy for you.   There are some great songs on here, especially once the opening trio of pretentious wank ends.

57. Bowling For Soup – Sorry For Partyin’

As was probably made clear from our group review of this album, I love it, but recognize that it is nothing but ridiculous.  But you don’t see a band live twice in two weeks if you don’t like something about them, and, by God, these guys make me laugh.

56. Dream Theater – Black Clouds & Silver Linings

There was never a reason for me to like this album, my Dream Theater phase has long ended, but they sucked me back in.  I only rank this album so lowly because, of six tracks, I only truly love two, hate two, and can enjoy parts of two, so it’s pretty middle ground for me.

55. Bill Callahan – Sometimes I Wish I Were An Eagle

With the collapse of imeem, I no longer have access to this album, so I’m going to have to give my initial ranking of it the benefit of the doubt.  I know it would be a top 30 album easily if I had any use for Callahan’s vocals.

54. Tori Amos – Abnormally Attracted to Sin

This is actually an incredibly good ranking for Tori, considering it’s me doing the ranking.  She and I have a love/hate relationship…ok, mostly hate.  I’ve only ever been able to love one album of hers: Little Earthquakes, and it’s not even that strong a love.  Also just want to mention my intense love for the track “500 Miles”.

53. Dredg – The Pariah, The Parrot, The Delusion

Sorry, Axxo…again.

52. Lady Gaga – The Fame Monster

Oh how my boyfriend and I have literally fought over whether this is an album or an EP.  There is a case for both, but since Gaga’s calling it an album, I’m going with it.  There’s a chance, in the future, my ranking of this will go up, as happened with The Fame, but for now, I think I like half of what’s here, especially that fancy Ace of Base cover (I’m talking to you “Alejandro”).

51. Andrew Bird – Noble Beast

As much as I wanted to like this album, it just wasn’t there.  Works as some wonderfully pleasant background music, but I can’t actively listen to this no matter how hard I try.

So there you have it, short and sweet, and again my apologies.  Will do better in future.

Leave a Reply

