Bowling For Soup @ The Granada Theater in Dallas & The Aardvark in Fort Worth

21 Dec

So, I’ve been meaning to get around to this for a while, but the time just hasn’t presented itself, what with the end of semester and all.  Over the last two weeks, I saw Bowling For Soup twice in the DFW metroplex.  A great time was had by all, and I really haven’t quite figured out how to go about this review.  For, you see, as much as I loved Bowling For Soup, what I really want to tell you about is one of their opening acts…

Wanting to bring something new to the Dallas music scene, Ryan Hamilton and Jencey Hirunrusme create their own modern blend of folk, pop and rock in Smile Smile.  Their songs range from heart wrenching ballads to foot stomping sing alongs. Jencey’s classical piano background teamed with Ryan’s self-taught guitar style combine to create sounds which both soar above you and pull you in tight at the same time.

This quote comes from their official website (http://www.smilesmilemusic.com/) and pretty much sums the band up as far as I’ve seen from their performances.  Their new album, Truth on Tape, comes out February 9th, 2010 and is #1 on my list of most anticipated music for the new year.  From the new album, this is a video I took in Fort Worth of them singing my favorite song, “Beg You to Stay”:

And then there is also a fantastic cover they do of Blink 182’s “Dammit”:

Anyways, now that I’ve plugged Smile Smile to the best of my abilities, on to Bowling For Soup.  I wish I could say which was the better show, if you want music from the band, Dallas was all about that, I’m pretty sure even though that show was shorter, they played at least 3 or 4 more songs than they did in Fort Worth.  But there was a reason for that.  In Fort Worth, they were drunk off their asses.  Not only were they, but everyone in the entire venue, except, apparently me.  I don’t know if you, dear reader, knows much about a Bowling For Soup live gig, but I have to tell you something.  Even if you don’t like their music, you will probably enjoy their live act.  Part comedy show, part music performance, all entertaining, the onstage banter, the full-blown stops in the middle of songs to have a conversation, the general nonchalance of the whole gig makes for one of the best live experiences I have ever had the pleasure of attending.

Oh, and I should probably give the other two opening acts I saw in Fort Worth their fair shot as well.  Bronze Whaler, a local band from Denton, Texas were not at all my type of music, but they had passion in what they were doing, and a really hot bass player, plus they did an excellent cover of MGMT’s “Electric Feel”, so they’re ok in my book.  MC Lars…oh my God, where to start about MC Lars?  He was probably drunker than Bowling For Soup, that’s for sure.  Apparently this was the first time in his life he’d ever had vodka.  I’m glad he chose that night, he was on fire.  Rap, rap is not my thing, but th guy doesn’t just rap.  He raps about nerdy things.  Like Edger Allen Poe, and video games.  Oh yes, he is more than ok in my book.  Probably the best song of the night (plus it featured Jaret from Bowling For Soup so that’s always fun):

3 Responses to “Bowling For Soup @ The Granada Theater in Dallas & The Aardvark in Fort Worth”

  1. poverty_dieter 22/12/2009 at 17:21 #

    Cool reviews. I need to get out more! 🙂

  2. bono212 23/12/2009 at 05:16 #

    If you’re in Denton, especially, BFS is great when they’re in their home-town area.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Smile Smile Cover “Dammit” by Blink-182 and a super-short review of Truth on Tape « An Ocean of Noise - 07/10/2010

    […] As you may recall earlier this year I pimped the hell out of a video I took of Smile Smile covering this song, and in “return” (ok, I’m sure they had no idea this blog even existed), Smile […]

Leave a Reply

