Cassie’s Top 20 Albums of 2009: #15-11

29 Dec

I’m back to list off 5 more albums, here’s #15-11:

15. Woods – Songs of Shame

I just can’t get enough of Jeremy Earl’s voice, which keeps me coming back to listen to Songs of Shame over and over. But, just as important are the melodies that anchor the songs, which, when combined with the tape-effects and the lo-fi sound, makes for a heavenly listen to my ears.

14. Raekwon – Only Built 4 Cuban Linx Pt. II

After nearly 15 years, Raekwon (of Wu-Tang Clan fame) finally dropped his follow-up to the classic hip-hop album, Only Built 4 Cuban Linx. And, it’s well worth the wait. Rapping over beats from J Dilla, RZA, Pete Rock, and Dr. Dre, Raekwon brings back his Mafioso style in a huge way.

13. Phoenix – Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix

Unlike Ashley, I don’t think this is the most pretentious album title ever, and actually quite liked it (but then, I do love some wordplay) and don’t think it was meant to raise Phoenix up to the level of Mozart. In any case, for some reason, it also took me too long to listen to this fantastic album. Definitely my loss. I can’t get over how much fun this album is from the beginning to the end. And, that damn syncopated drum on “1901” (which, happily, I heard before I saw the aforementioned Cadillac commercial) gets me every time…I know it’s coming, and yet, it throws me off. The true mark of a great rhythm section. The video I picked was “Lisztomania,” my favorite song on the album, set to ’80s Brat Pack movie clips. It’s basically the best thing ever. (Even Phoenix thinks so, saying that they liked this video better than their official version).

12. jj – N°2

Try to ignore the giant (blood-spattered?!?) pot leaf on the cover of jj’s album, N°2. (Or don’t, if you’re so inclined). Either way, this Swedish electronic pop band makes some incredible dream-pop, and considering I didn’t give this album a listen until a few short weeks ago, the fact that it’s showing up near the top 10 of my list is pretty amazing. Plus, jj manage to jack Lil Wayne’s “Lollipop” beat and set it to an ode to Ecstasy on, shockingly, “Ecstasy,” that makes Weezy ambient, something I never expected.

11. Deradoorian – Mind Raft (EP)

As if I needed another reason to love the Dirty Projectors, here’s the solo EP from one of the female vocalists from the Dirty Projectors, Angel Deradoorian. Clocking in at just over 20 minutes, this is the shortest album to grace my list, and for good reason. Deradoorian has one of the most beautiful voices I’ve had the pleasure of hearing, and I’m not quite sure why, but she’s incredibly charismatic in that regard. And, Mind Raft certainly shows that there is more than just one capable songwriter, besides Dave Longstreth, in the Dirty Projectors.

And that’s it for this post. #10-6 are up next.

2 Responses to “Cassie’s Top 20 Albums of 2009: #15-11”

  1. bono212 05/01/2010 at 05:25 #

    I really enjoyed your list, Cassie. Just wanted to comment on this particular one because of our disagreement about Phoenix, lol. My initial dislike of the title probably stems from the fact that sometimes, and a lot at the beginning of this year especially, I can be put off by some things “indie” bands do, and, since I was still kind of in that place when the album came out, it kind of proliferated over to Phoenix’s album title, and, well, yeah, it made me think these guys were some wanky hipsters who thought their music was on level with Mozart. I’m still not quite sure about what they were trying to do with the title, but, no it doesn’t bother me NEARLY as much as it used to.

  2. Cassie 07/01/2010 at 15:18 #

    Thanks, I enjoyed reading yours as well. Ha, yeah, I think that’s an understandable reaction; sometimes indie bands can be unflinchingly and tirelessly indie. And, I’m not exactly sure what they were doing with the title either, but I just remember seeing it for the first time and chuckling a bit to myself, so I don’t know, I guess it didn’t hit me the way it did you at first, haha.

Leave a Reply

