Just Dance – Some Random Thoughts

29 Jan

This blog post is going to be short and sweet.  I haven’t had a computer for the last week +, but I’m back now.  I promise to start-up on the 2010 album reviews, as well as to get back on track with the Top 100 One Hit Wonders listening (next up is Men Without Hats).   Until then, just some random thoughts floating through my head about the Lady Gaga track “Just Dance”.

Ever since the release of her second single, I’ve always been confused about why people don’t really seem to appreciate how fun and carefree “Just Dance” is.  For a while I thought maybe I was just blind to how good the rest of her music was or something.  I realize that she’s a good vocal talent, I’ve heard the acoustic versions of her songs, they’re fantastic.  But, I think tonight it really just hit me.  Gaga has become something bigger than she ever had any right being, and suddenly everything she does is under the scrutiny of the masses and, usually, is taken for a work of genius…

…but then there’s “Just Dance”.  It’s trash, pure, beautiful, wonderful trash.  Two drunk chicks out partying, so gone they’ve lost their cell phones, have no idea where they are, their shirts are on backwards, but hey, the DJ is playing their favorite song, and they’re just gonna dance, and it’s all going to be ok.  Even if ok means they eventually end up leaving the club with a mysterious male stranger.

“Just Dance” is everything that Lady Gaga is not, at this stage.  Sometimes, when something I love becomes this big, I still love it, but a cloud covers it in my mind, and every time I hear it, I get this sick feeling in the pit of my stomach, it’s how I’ve always been, even if I realize that’s ridiculous.  Whenever I hear Gaga now, I feel that way.  But never when I hear “Just Dance”.  Never.

4 Responses to “Just Dance – Some Random Thoughts”

  1. E-Pizzle 29/01/2010 at 05:17 #

    Hahahah FINALLY someone who agrees that Just Dance is just as good as Poker Face, I thought I was alone

  2. bono212 29/01/2010 at 06:08 #

    I like Poker Face, but for one thing, I like Bad Romance more than it (since everyone says the two are the exact same beat), and for another, man, nothing touches Just Dance lol.

  3. E-Pizzle 29/01/2010 at 21:30 #

    Hahaha I’ve been telling everyone for months that Poker Face and Bad Romance are the same beat, even the Ma-ma-ma-ma-ma and Ra-ra-ra-ah-ah are similar, but I love it. And everything sounds SO much better live. Such a good concert lol

  4. bono212 30/01/2010 at 03:55 #

    How was Jason Derulo? Is any of his other music good? I’m not too impressed with that second single.

Leave a Reply

