Ashley’s Top 50 Albums of the 2000s: 50-41

20 Mar

A day late and a dollar short, but let’s do this thing shall we?  A word of warning, I don’t feel like I was none to aware of the events transpiring musing-wise this past decade, and as a result, I know this is not the greatest list of its kind that you will read.  I don’t have a lot to say about all the entries, and I will not always try, but let’s enjoy this little countdown anyways.  Along the way I’ll try to share with you a bit about my various mishaps with music this decade, this is the time when I first really began to acknowledge the music world outside of what my parent’s listened to, and it was a very special time for me.  Hopefully I can share some of that with you.
Also, once upon a time this article was all nights with album covers, but until I can figure out how to make WordPress not a stupid piece of shit, you’ll have to deal without them.

50. Gwen Stefani – Love. Angel. Music. Baby. (2004)

When I turned  16/17 I got my license and bought my first car.  Not long afterwards, my father got me a CD player for that car, and not long after that I purchased two albums.  The other album is the #1 album on this list, and here is #50.  That’s a coincidence, I assure you, but the CDs were a very special part of the growing up I did in that period of time, cheesy though the music on this particular album may be.

49. Fall Out Boy – From Under the Cork Tree (2005)

I am ashamed to have this album on my list, but I would be lying to myself if I didn’t include it.  I’ll let last.fm do the talking: 21) Fall Out Boy – 261 plays; 14) From Under the Cork Tree – 179 plays < That’s overall artists and overall albums, people.  I was a little obsessed with this album, and unfortunately that obsession coincided with my joining of last.fm, so the stats are there for the world to see.  Fun story, this was one of the first times my mom asked me what I wanted for Christmas and I knew full well that it was what she was *getting* me for Christmas.  I asked her for this album.  Christmas morning comes, and my step-dad opens his gifts, and there is Under the Cork Tree.  I got so angry yelling, “MOM! That one’s mine!”  Well, five awkward minutes later, it turns out mom bought two copies of the album, one for me and one for my step-dad.  Yeah, fun times.

48. Muse – Black Holes and Revelations (2006)

The only reason I ever got into Muse was because I was to see them at a festival, and that event was in support of this album.  I heard a few tracks, was impressed, and was blown away by the live performance.  I realize the album is full of warts, but I love it still in spite of it.  While we have grown apart, I have yet to hear anything on any of Muse’s other albums that I like more than my favorite tracks on this one.  “Starlight”, “Knights of Cydonia”, “Maps of the Problematique”, they’re all amazing, some of the best musical works I know, if I’m allowed to pontificate.

47. Bat For Lashes – Two Suns (2009)

Since the closing of 2009, my love of this album has grown exponentially.  Given time, I’m sure it would end up at an even higher placement on a list such as this.  I think I’ve said a good piece about this album already on my best albums of 2009 list, but if you haven’t heard it yet, and you’re into dark nighttime music, you won’t find a better album than this right here.  This will be the first of many albums from 2009 on this list, I can’t help it, I paid a great deal of attention to music from that year.

46. Devils & Dust – Bruce Springsteen (2005)

I have for you some musical samples to enjoy when I can’t think of much else to say.  The title track to this one does wonders to my emotions:

Not Springsteen’s greatest album, but he’s got some great individual tracks on here, and he does great work when he attempts folk music.  Short little Springsteen list for you.

Springsteen: The Folk Albums

  1. Devils and Dust
  2. Ghost of Tom Joad
  3. Nebraska

Deal with it.

45. The Shins – Oh Inverted World (2001)


Jeez, you pretty much can’t go wrong with one of the greatest songs of not just this decade, but any decade:

I have only heard this album thrice, thus, I don’t have a lot to say, but it’s a really chill and beautiful album, and I grow more in love with each listen.

44. fun. – Aim & Ignite (2009)

Just a pure joy kind of album here for me.  I can’t say it’s perfection, but it’s absolutely fun to listen to.  Oh jeez, pun!  Another album I’ve said a great deal about in the 2009 list I made earlier this year.


43. Taylor Swift – Fearless (2008)

One last song for you, one that still touches me in the stupidest way to this day:

This song has nothing to do with my relationship, thematically speaking, but I can’t get enough of it anyways, it brings a smile to my face.  The album is good work, makes great strides into bridging the gap between country and pop music.  I hope this is a good thing, I don’t know how  I feel about some of the country/pop copy-cat albums/songs I’ve been hearing these days.

42. Kelly Clarkson – Breakaway (2004)

Funnily enough, I am not embarrassed to have this on here.  American Idol was a one-off success, and I could not be more pleased with the results of the first edition.

Another album my mom bought me for the Fall out Boy Christmas, Kelly has never ceased to amaze me.  She more than any other artist has probably been most pivotal into bringing me back into the world of pop music.  Not…exactly a good thing, but she does good work, and she seems to be so sweet, I’m happy for her success.

41. Our Lady Peace – Spiritual Machines (2000)

In college, I met a lot of new people, but only became close friends with a few.  One of these is a huge fan of Our Lady Peace.  Try as I might, I was not able to make her a fan of U2, but she was successful enough in converting me.  Just recently, I finally purchased my own copy of this album.  I don’t like it as much as I remember, but the concept is still fantastic, and the last few tracks on the album are really incredible to listen to, especially late at night in a dark room (not).

10 down, 40 to go, I hope you all stick around for the ride, it should be a pleasurable one.

Leave a Reply

