Ashley’s Top Ten Albums of the 2000s! (10-6)

29 Mar

I was going to go ahead and do the whole top ten in the same post, but then I realized I had quite a bit to say about 5-1, so I’m breaking them up into two parts.  That being said, I actually don’t have THAT much to say about 10-6 :doh:.  I have failed you loyal and dedicated reader that never says anything 😉

10) Explosions in the Sky – The Earth Is Not A Cold Dead Place (2003)

Remember that band, Blaqk Audio, I was talking about earlier?  My favorite song on their album is called “Cities of Fire” and one day I was on the songmeanings page for that song when I came across this suggested song meaning

“Watch those explosions in the sky and you’ll go blind, but not this time”

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Explosions_in_the_Sky

Now, that, I thought, was definitely not what that particular lyric was about, but I did love that lyric, and thought that was an awesome name for a band.  Not only that, but I had already heard “First Breath After Coma”, so I decided to jump on the EITS bandwagon, and got myself a copy of The Earth Is Not A Cold Dead Place.  My love of post-rock was born in that instant, not that this list has been evident of that love, I haven’t been good at delving further into the genre because I just can’t find anything I love as much as these guys.

9) Bruce Springsteen – The Rising (2002)

I kind of didn’t finish my Bruce Springsteen story when I was writing about Magic.  I’ll finish it here.  Having heard Magic, I was immediately smitten.  That Christmas, my mom gave me Born to Run (the 30th anniversary edition) and I also received a new pair of headphones (Which are lost, if anyone finds them, $$$).  Born to Run and I shared good times with that new set of headphones, and it wasn’t long before Bruce had entered the pantheon of bands I obsess over.  I had myself a fine Bruce Springsteen day when I returned to school for the Spring semester, and there, I ran into The Rising.  I don’t want to sound American-centralized or anything, but it seems like if you’re not an American, you don’t quite get what’s so great about this album.  That kind of surprises me, honestly, because I think the album stands quite strongly on its own, but, this is just my experience talking.  If you don’t already know, The Rising is a sort of healing album put out in the wake of 9/11.  Some of the most touching songs on the album weren’t even written about the event, but they fit, they helped soothe in a way anything Springsteen had attempted to write out of his own emotion in that immediate time period possibly could have (though the other songs that were written post-9/11 aren’t exactly shabby either).  I heard the album long after its 2002 release, but it didn’t hit me any less, and seeing him perform the songs from it live will, I hope, never stop being a near-religious experience.

8.) Arcade Fire – Funeral (2004)

“What’s the name of the song that played before U2 went on stage during the Vertigo tour?”  “WAKE.The.Fuck.UP”.

I didn’t know what the song was, myself, when I saw U2 on said tour, but it was quite the introduction to an already epic show for me (it was my first time seeing the band live).  Even when I did find out who Arcade Fire were, it was still two more years before I’d hear Funeral.  That only happened when I participated in my first Desert Island competition and almost every song from Funeral was featured on a list anyways.  I figured,in the great words of my mentor Ringo Starr, y not, and used my eMusic downloads to finish the album off and gave it a spin.  I didn’t think it was anything then, and I really don’t know why.  There were no ridiculous pretensions stopping me, I just really didn’t get it at all.  Then, not long later, I heard Neon Bible.  Now thatThat clicked with me.  I didn’t write anything under Neon Bible yesterday because the two albums kind of go together in my head, because, without one, I would never have found my way to the other, so I opted to write about them both here.  This summer, I hope to God, Arcade Fire will be playing at Lollapalooza.  And at that point,  I think this obsession with the band that I have felt desires to break out of me will finally have its chance.  It’s not to say I don’t already love them, I do, but they are a band that I…forget about.  Kind of like how you somehow manage to forget a song you love on an album you don’t listen to often.  It’s odd to forget a band, but, Arcade Fire seem to always be on the back-burner of my mind.  But I do keep the coals under them a-burnin’

7) M83 – Saturdays = Youth (2008)

Huh…not sure how that slipped by me…

Uh…

Yeah, so my list has hit a bit of a bump, my bad.  Or maybe my viewpoints on 2008 have changed.  Well, what I’m getting at is, Day and Age was my favorite album of 2008 and yet!  Though, I must say, I think Saturdays = Youth moves me far more than the former, unfortunately, it’s just not as consistent an album.  The songs on S=Y that hit it though, they really nail it. I can’t hear songs like “You Appearing”, “Kim and Jessie” “Skin of the Night” and “Couleurs” (which conveniently blends that post-rock I already love so well ;)) and not get this rush in my heart of emotion. Music can be a very powerful thing, if M83 had harnessed any better than they did here?  Heart attacks, people. Heart attacks. M83 did you a favor by not writing a 100% epic album.

6) Yeah Yeah Yeahs – It’s Blitz (2009)

I haven’t been talking much about the 2009 albums because I already said so much about them previously, but I was kind of stressed out when I wrote my piece on It’s Blitz, what I consider the #1 album of 2009, and it was a little lax.  I’ll share a story with you now.  In March of 2009, Travis and I started dating (I don’t know why I have referred to my boyfriend and Travis as two separate entities on this blog) and it was a wonderful and giddy month.  In the middle of it, It’s Blitz came out.  I remember sitting outside of one of my classrooms, I had a stretch of four classes on Thursdays, and I had a lot of downtime between them, chatting with him via MSN on my cell phone.  He insisted that this new Yeah Yeah Yeahs album would change my life.  I was kind of taken with Travis’ opinions at that point in time, so I went with it, even though until that point I had vowed never to ever listen to anything by The Yeah Yeah Yeahs because they were the very pinnacle of indie douchebaggery in my mind (Part of me is a strangely petty person.  The other part of me is a Tom Petty person, but that’s a tale for another day).  When I got home from school, I sat down and gave It’s Blitz a spin.  From listen one, until the very end of the year, until now, it has been my favorite album of that decade, and in about two or three years time, when I’ve settled down with it a little more even, I will likely have to update this list of mine.  To explain more explicitly, more personally, why this album means so much to me would take just one song, and even 1/100th of an understanding of how I felt during that point in my life as it was:

So much for not having much to say about these albums.  Join me tomorrow for 5-2.  I promise I’m not being a prick about #1, it’s going to be a huge blog post about one big, important (to me) thing.

Leave a Reply

