New Format/New Segment: Super Short Reviews! Chromeo – Business Casual

16 Sep

Super long blog title.

Anyways, as you may have noticed, the blog has had a bit of a face-lift. If you like it, let us know. If you don’t, let us know. We love comments.
We now have a twitter account. Follow us at: http://twitter.com/oceannoiseblog

Now then, as part of the new blog, and to make sure that I, at least, am putting forth more content than before, I’m going to start writing more brief reviews. Reviews to the extent of…

CHROMEO – BUSINESS CASUAL:

Moreeee! Moreeeee Chromeo!

I first got a glimpse of Chromeo at this past Lollapalooza. Having never heard of them until that point, I was a little confused as to why they had been given the “honor” of opening for Lady Gaga. As it turns out the transition of Hot Chip > Chromeo > Lady Gaga was absolutely perfect.

The best way I have of reviewing Business Casual is to compare it to the closest album to it I know, and that’s Cut Copy’s In Ghost Colours. They aren’t exactly the same, some may even find me insane for making the comparison…perhaps I am. Regardless, the album comes off as a funkier, somewhat slinkier Cut Copy, but without the slick transitions and overall cohesion. It has a bit more of a rock influence as well, the closer reminding me a bit of an 80s Joel tune (I promise that’s not a bad thing in this case), and overall variety in the tunes, making it a worthwhile listen. This is the kind of thing I want out of my electro music, and I’m glad to hear any album that pull it off so successfully.

Business Casual gets an 7.7/10

There you go. A Super short review. There will be more. Hopefully they’re useful to you all, I just like to give people an insight into as much music as possible, and this is a way I think I can do that.

Have a good one!

2 Responses to “New Format/New Segment: Super Short Reviews! Chromeo – Business Casual”

  1. International forum 16/09/2010 at 04:59 #

    wow nice girl there, thanks for the review, and the pic 😀

  2. bono212 16/09/2010 at 20:52 #

    HA! No problem lol.

Leave a Reply

