Concert Review – Roger Waters – United Center 9/24/10

25 Sep

Even calling this a concert review sounds wrong.  I mostly just want to share with you all in the experience I had tonight.  I’m not going to take up a lot of your time, I don’t want to ramble.  I’ve mentioned before on this blog that I love The Wall with all of my heart (well, the part of my heart that’s not busy loving eleventy billion other albums), and as I mentioned not too long ago, I was speechless when I heard Waters was going to tour it again.  Months later, a scare that I wasn’t going to be able to go, and here I am, alive to talk about it. 


Great usage of

So, what can I say?  I don’t think I’ll ever be able to listen to the album the same way again.  The experience I had tonight was beyond worthwhile.  A definite high point of my life, not exaggerating whatsoever.  It may have been a note for note representation of the album, but the visuals, the atmosphere, made it so much more.  To hear people in the audience knowing  not just every lyric, but even the spoken outbursts found throughout the album was a rare sight for me at a classic rock show (see: Tom Petty).

Giant floating representations of the three antagonists, now that was awesome, and I thought, untoppable.  And then…the pig dropped in.  Holy shit, excuse the language, but holy shit.  I never thought I was going to get to see the pig in my life, either.  But, the pig was there, and it has tusks now.   Pyrotechnics opened the gig, and throughout projections littered the wall.  Speaking of the wall itself, I mean, I realized they were going to build it in front of my eyes, but I really still didn’t know what to expect.  Two main points about it 1) It was far bigger than I expected and 2) Possibly the greatest video screen ever.  Now, that was a visual I could get behind. 

In order to make some of the songs work in a way we were all comfortable with, I suppose, a lot of footage from the film was played on the wall.  At first, I thought that was a bit of a cheat, and then I remembered how awesome those animations are, and quickly banished the thought.  It was like seeing the best parts of the film on the largest of screens.  Some portions, Waters “acted” out, which was just as great.   It was good to see the guy having a good time, paling around with the children’s dance troop that came out for “Another Brick in the Wall (Part 2)” as well as doing some goofy hand motions during the chorus of “Comfortably Numb” while he wasn’t singing.

All in all, if you already loved the album, seeing it live can only enhance the experience. If you’re not a fan, but love Pink Floyd, hopefully you’ll give this a shot.  It’s a great experience in general, but it might heighten your appreciation of The Wall as well.

Pics can be found here, but unfortunately I completely forgot to bring my camera, and the side of my phone’s touch screen that has the zoom functions is broken, so enjoy the best I have to offer.

Leave a Reply

