Super Short Review – Kanye West ~ My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy

22 Nov

Let’s get this straight, I really don’t feel qualified to write this review, but someone has to do it, and I’d hate to ignore such a prolific release.  So, with that out-of-the-way let’s get on with the show. 

For the sake of everyone's eyes, I'll use this cover.

At the close of this album, I find myself having two realizations.  1) If hip-hop was more melodic, I’d have no problem with the genre. 2) However, I just don’t enjoy hearing people sing about pussy and beating on their girlfriends.  Call me crazy, but it doesn’t appeal to me.

Regardless, somehow or another, My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy has come close to being a top five favorite rap album for me.  Given the score I’m going to give it, you can kind of see that I don’t enjoy the genre a whole lot.  I am learning what I like and don’t, and I’m finding a lot to enjoy.  This album is one of them.

The Good: All of the Lights, Power, Lost in the World/Who Will Survive in America

The Bad: So Appalled, Monster

The Ugly: Hell of a Life

Just a quick note, I’m sure that’s the most unpopular musical opinion of the year, to not like “Monster”.

There are some fine points to this album, the music is splendid, I’m not sure I’ve heard anything so melodic from this genre before, and I’m quite impressed by what he’s put together here.  Lyrically, he hits on gems every so often, but they’re hidden amongst what I’ve already mentioned as the bane of my hip-hop existence.  A great verse pointed out to me earlier:

My childlike creativity, purity and honesty
Is honestly being prodded by these grown thoughts
Reality is catching up with me
Taking my inner child, I’m fighting for it
Custody
With these responsibilities that they entrusted me
As I look down at my diamond encrusted piece

As for individual tracks, “All of the Lights” is one of the best songs of the year and possibly one of the greatest rap songs I’ve ever heard.  I couldn’t complain about the closing duo of the album either.

There are negatives though.  Almost every song overstays its welcome.  “Runaway” is ruined by that extended outro (though ruined is a harsh word).  Ruin is the right word for what the random Chris Rock rant at the end of “Blame Game” does to that particular track.

In short: There isn’t a more beautifully melodic rap album out there (that I’ve heard yet) and Kanye West has put together a masterfully smooth album here.  Every track belongs together, and the overall vibe of the album is constant throughout.  But, an inability to self-edit is his own worst enemy, and it takes away from some of the overall experience.

Final Score: 7.5/10

3 Responses to “Super Short Review – Kanye West ~ My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy”

  1. MovieHunterz 25/06/2011 at 04:22 #

    Visit http://www.moviehunterz.wordpress.com to download latest movies for free. Active and high speed torrents.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Super Short Review – Kanye West ~ My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy « An Ocean of Noise -- Topsy.com - 22/11/2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Ocean Noise, Ashley Wantland. Ashley Wantland said: Super Short Review – Kanye West ~ My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy: http://wp.me/pI73I-bV […]

  2. The Ten Worst Albums of 2010 « An Ocean of Noise - 10/12/2010

    […] What makes me so frustrated is that Ke$ha had something good going for her, she had an image, and somewhere along the line, I guess she just lost sight of what that image was, and instead, turned into a female Kanye West. […]

Leave a Reply

