Album Review – Black Eyed Peas ~ The Beginning

23 Nov

By track four, I was prepared to write this album off in three sentences about how the Black Eyed Peas were far past their prime, if ever they even had one, and that they should really hang it up.  Then “Someday” came on and suddenly I was transported to a BEP Dance Party/Rave I hadn’t intended on attending and lo, the groove ensued.

Most adorable album cover ever.

As a fan of the Black Eyed Peas, I can say without any remorse or bias that The E.N.D. was one of the worst pieces of crap I’ve ever forced myself to listen to in the name of padding out my end of the year album stats.

When I heard the band were following the album up with The Beginning trepidations were high.  It didn’t help that the worst lead single…of all time was to follow.  “Time of My Life (Dirty Bit)” is an atrocity of a song and I lack the vocabulary to sum up just how much I hate it.  “Light up the Night” didn’t fare much better.   An unexpected gem was found in “Love You Long Time”, but then the album went right back down the tubes with the next track, “XOXOXO”.  We’re talking everything I dislike about the band here.  Rhyming for the sake of rhyming.  Letting Fergie do anything.  The works!

Then “Someday” happened.  At first, I couldn’t understand what was happening because it had been so long since last my ears had heard such a thing…but The Black Eyed Peas had written something…good. What really took me by surprise was how influenced by U2 the track sounds.  Not a huge surprise, as they opened for them on U2’s last trip to America, but it’s interesting to the Irish band’s fan base, since Will.I.Am. and David Guetta may be producing a “Club Album” U2 may put out in the future.  It was a nice little insight into what that album may sound like.

For the next 20-30 minutes it was an all out dance party that I’m still smiling over.  This album, even the tracks that weren’t so good, was incredibly tight.  Each song flowing into one another, and a consistent sound throughout.  It’s only unfortunate that three of the four opening tracks exist and that (I feel like such a broken record on these pop album reviews) the album far overstays its welcome.

So, go on ye brave souls, if you dare.  Try the new BEP album.  Sure, it’s not high art, but it’s fun as hell and I for one am incredibly glad I listened to it.  One of the funnest releases of the year.

7/10

One Response to “Album Review – Black Eyed Peas ~ The Beginning”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Album Review – Black Eyed Peas ~ The Beginning « An Ocean of Noise -- Topsy.com - 23/11/2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Ocean Noise, Ashley Wantland. Ashley Wantland said: Album Review – Black Eyed Peas ~ The Beginning: http://wp.me/pI73I-c2 […]

Leave a Reply

