Ashley’s Favorite Big, Dumb Pop songs of 2010

19 Dec

In what shall now become a yearly tradition, I will bring to you my favorite moments in the commercial pop scene from 2010.  Please, folks, remember, I’m only calling it big and dumb because I love.  Inclusion on the list pretty much is given to songs that get a shit-ton of radio play.  Or, in this year’s case, song’s that were written by bands that get a shit-ton of radio play.

Onwards!

10.) Kris Allen – “Live Like We’re Dying

Only recently has it come to light (my light, not the general public’s light) that this song is by The Script (who, ironically just missed out making my list because of Kris Allen’s cover of one of their b-sides!).  I’m listening to the original as I type this for comparison’s sake.

Anyways, this was a song that repetition forced me to fall in love.  The conceit is simple, but sometimes I can be a sucker for simple.  It’s a nice little number, and it has a decent enough point.

EDIT: Oh my God, I lied earlier when I said I was currently listening to The Script’s version, I was actually listening to Kris Allen’s first and THEN The Script’s.  This is literally the exact same song.  In fact, I almost wonder if Kris Allen didn’t just record himself doing karaoke and then released it as a single.

9.) Katy Perry – “Teenage Dream”

From the very first note of this song, I tried to force myself not to like it.  By the end, I was enamored.  By the 5,000th time I’d heard it, I was in love.  Katy may be a ho, but this song kills me.  It’s got this wonderful innocence to it that gives me this warm feeling in my heart when I hear it. 

8.) Nelly – “Just A Dream”

I’ve never been a big fan of Nelly, so I was shocked to find out he was the one singing this little number.  It’s a great song, all about making the wrong decisions and loss.  But really, the video is the best thing about it, because it’s so awful.

7.) Black Eyed Peas – “Someday”

I believe I may have already written about this song on the blog, but, knowing that Will.I.Am is going to be producing a future U2 album, along with David Guetta who also worked on this song, makes me pretty excited for what work they’re going to do with U2.  This song, is the reason why I’m actually interested in seeing where this might go.  It’s got those Edge guitars floating around among a generally good pop/dance song.  That’s fine by me.

I hope this is going to be a single, it already was featured in a film (Knight & Day) so I’m hopeful.

6.) Eminem f/Rihanna – “Love the Way You Lie”

I still can’t believe this song exists, given Rihanna’s unfortunate experiences with domestic violence.  Leave it to Eminem to write a song like this and actually make it work.  Though I can’t forgive them the “Window Pain” line.

Talk about your star-studded music video.

5.) B.O.B. f/Hayley Williams – “Airplanes”

Let’s be specific here, it’s not the version featuring Eminem.  Not a fan of that version.  It’s a bit silly for B.o.B. to write a song about how much he hates his fame and wishes he could go back to the way things used to be on his first album, but aside from that this song is cute, and a fun, fun song to listen to in the car.

This is a great video, as is the video for “Nothing on You”, I hope he continues the chain of awesome videos.  I mean, of course I hope something keeps being good.  Kind of stupid to even mention.

4.) Rihanna f/Avril Lavigne – “Cheers (Drink to That)”

If Rihanna doesn’t make this a single, she’s insane.  Again, this is a song I’ve already written about on the blog, so I don’t want to be repetitive, but it’s got this nostalgia factor (if you can be nostalgic for the early 2000’s at any rate) that pushes it up to this level of being more than just a fun pop song.

3.) Taio Cruz – “Dynamite”

I don’t think there’s ever been a song I’ve heard this many times on the radio and haven’t gotten sick to death of it.  I mean, seriously, I love this song.  I’ve heard it up to 5 times in one day and left it on every time.  I can’t believe there’s an edition of his album that this isn’t on.  It’s so much fun, it’s a great car jam/party jam, and repetitive though the lyrics may be, I really have no complaints about anything that happens on it.  The whole album, really, is a great, fun listen.

2.) Taylor Swift – “Enchanted”

What a beautiful song.  Another hopeful single (that’s why I mentioned in the beginning of the blog that this year, since I actually listened to a lot more pop albums than usual, this was going to be a list of songs that might not necessarily end up on the radio) from another fantastic album.  I almost left “Enchanted” off of this list to put on my top of 2010 list, but I like to stick to rules that I set in my own head, so you’ll have to just deal with that GAF.

1.) Ke$ha – “Your Love Is My Drug”

Shouldn’t surprise anyone to see Ke$ha take the number one spot.  Unlike “Dynamite” I did eventually grow tired of hearing this one on the radio, but the time that I did spend with it before then was like “I’ve Got a Feeling” last summer.  The soundtrack to so many things I did with my fiance.  Going out to buy the album at midnight, only to find out that no one cared enough to have it at midnight, singing it with my little brother at full volume on the way to St. Louis for some baseball, thousands of other car trips doing the very same, it was a song that truly shaped the year for me.  It’s stupid, it really is, but that’s the point.

That about wraps things up for what was big and dumb in pop for 2010.

Up next: My legit top 50 songs of 2010

One Response to “Ashley’s Favorite Big, Dumb Pop songs of 2010”

  1. becca 31/07/2011 at 00:33 #

    Taylor Swift should be #1

Leave a Reply

