A new post? WTF?

28 Nov

This blog hasn’t been updated in a dog’s age (okay, it hasn’t been that long, but I like the phrase), but as it’s still randomly attracting readers based upon a review I did of a Sonic Youth album (which I re-listened to and still hate, tyvm), I’d like to present you random 3 or so people who happen by every so often with a band you should be listening to.

The band is called Inhale, and right now, they’re my favourite band. Though band is kind of a misnomer. If you’re expecting to hear something melodic and poppy, you’re in the wrong place. Inhale’s music is dark, ambient, experimental drone, and it’s some of the best I’ve heard in 2011. It also has the uncanny ability to scare the hell out of you when you least expect it, but that’s half the fun. Listen to this while trying to go to sleep. Go on. I dare you.

    http://inhale.bandcamp.com/track/lotus-wings

Can’t do it, can you? The part of my childhood that loved A Charlie Brown Christmas died a little the first time I heard that.

Why do I like this band? Every track is more artful and expressive than 100 silly love songs that get played all day on the radio. I’m over the Top 40 and pop music in general. Give me something that sounds good, not what’s been through a focus group, 42 producers, and auto-tuned to shit.

I don’t want to sound like a hipster, mostly because I’d have to kill myself if I ever did, but even though they might not be as popular as someone like Tom Waits or Radiohead, Inhale is definitely in that upper echelon for me. So, at my behest, please check out their Bandcamp site, stream a few tracks, and if you like what you hear, buy an album or two.

Thank you.

Leave a Reply

