5 Best Album Covers of 2012

10 Dec

Well, it’s that time of year.  The time where I throw a few arbitrary lists out there, taunting you as I hold back on the big boy: Best Albums of the Year.  Of course, I could just do what I did to you two years ago and never actually post that list…MWAHAHAH.

Ok, enough of this!  This year, I am going to present you five album covers that I think are worth giving more than a cursory glance.  But instead of doing a top five, I’m going to give out Completely meaningless awards!  Huzzah!  Shall we?

The Winner of the Award for Best Deftones album cover of 2012 goes to….

Deftones – Koi No Yokan
It’s looking like a Deftones album cover is going to be an obligatory part of this list in years to come.  While I couldn’t quite put my finger on why I loved Diamond Eyes‘ album art, this one I find just plain beautiful.  Someday, I swear, I am going to listen to their music.

Shame about that bank of lights that managed to sneak into the pic.

Shame about that bank of lights that managed to sneak into the pic.

The Award for Best Pop Album Art goes to…

Owl City – The Midsummer Station

I don’t necessarily like Owl City, but I love this album cover.  Mysterious underground city? Check.  Mystery whale? Check.  Unsuspecting boat?  Check.  For some reason or another, it really reminds me of The Fantastic Mr. Fox which is a plus as well.  Yeah, you can definitely call me a fan of this album cover.

Da DUN.  Da DUN. Da Da DUN!

Da DUN. Da DUN. Da Da DUN!

The Award for Prettiest CGI Album Cover…

Lone – Galaxy Garden

I have no idea who this band is, and have only heard the music from their album preview because it was some animation that was in a similar style to this album cover, but wow is this pretty.  I love colors, lots and lots of colors, but not something as raunchy as Coldplay’s Mylo Xyloto.  This here, I can get behind.

Check out the album preview video here: http://youtu.be/rsR33BbDGhs

Check out the album preview video here: http://youtu.be/rsR33BbDGhs

The Award for Best Use of an Adorable Animal goes to…

Best Coast – The Only Place

Where is The Only Place?  I think it’s in California.  How do I know that?  A friggin’ adorable bear is hugging a cutout of the state of California in his adorable paws.

Rawr!

Rawr!

And Finally, the Award for Best Single Cover…

….

….

…Ok wait, I can’t just show you this Single cover yet.

I need to set the scene.

This is the cover to The Magnetic Fields’ Love at the Bottom of the Sea:

Eye See U!

Eye See U!

I wish I had any idea what that adorable Furby/Bird thing is, but imagine him singing every song on the album.

Which raises an interesting point because….

Hee Hee, So cute!

Hee Hee, So cute!

This is the cover to their single, “Andrew in Drag”.

I’ve learned a few things about the bird/furby:  His name is Andrew, and sometimes he likes to dress like a lady.  Magnetic Fields sing about this.

I can’t stop laughing at this cover.  I love it.  Brilliant.  Brilliant.

That’s all for today.  I may not be able to update tomorrow or the day after, due to school, but we’ll see.  Next time, it will be my favorite music videos of the year!  Cya.

One Response to “5 Best Album Covers of 2012”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ashley’s Top 50 Albums of 2012: 40-31 « An Ocean of Noise - 20/12/2012

    […] Rawr! I’m back! […]

Leave a Reply

