Top 5 Music Videos of 2012

14 Dec

Now that the semester is over and the concert event of the year has had a bit of time to be digested by us all, let’s get back to 2012 lists!

I’m not going to drag this out too much, I promise.  Tomorrow I’ll post my top 5 favorite new artists and then my favorite songs of the year.  Starting Monday, we’ll begin counting down with the WORST albums of the year, and then the top 50.  In my opinion, of course.  Which is law.  You hear?!

Finding a great music video is becoming harder and harder as time passes and MTV continues to be more and more a heaping wasteland of radioactive aliens oozing strange orange pigment from their bodies.  Also, Jersey Shore is a dated reference at this point and I’ll thank you to forget that I even mentioned it.

Still, 2012 managed a few real gems and I would like to share them with you now.  I think you’ll enjoy them…immensely.  So sit back, grab a drink and celebrate the season of listing as we count down the Top 5 Videos of 2012:

*SPOILER ALERT: I’m not going to waste everyone’s time with “Gangnam Style” */SPOILER*

5) Train – 50 Ways to Say Goodbye

I know I already posted about this video last week, but it’s too good to let go.  Everything about it makes me laugh.  The bad acting, The HOFF, the literal interpretation of the lyrics, the people in the video who really seem to have no idea what’s going on…it’s all brilliant.  Thank you, Train.  Thank you.

 

4) Gotye – Easy Way Out

I was already frustrated with this song when I heard it on the album for being the coolest song, at first, and then just ending after less than 2 minutes and 15 seconds.  With a video this great, I was even angrier with that short run time, as I really wanted to see where this would have gone.  Ah well, short but sweet, it gets the job done:

 

3) Spiritualized – Hey Jane

I didn’t come across this music video until tonight, but wow, what a thing it is.  The song was already 10 minutes long, so this is more of a movie than a music video, and it’s definitely not safe for work.  Nudity, violence, and a lot of content that is a little hard to swallow.  Really touching though, and I love a music video that I feel that way about.  Please, watch, I think you’ll be glad you did.

 

2) Nekrogoblikon – No One Survives

It sucks to be a loser.  Especially if you’re a Goblin.  Living in a man’s world.  With an asshole for a coworker.  Life sucks.  It would be nice to see the Goblin get the girl for once, you know?  Really kick some ass.

Wait…what’s that?  You mean…Nekrogoblikon gave us the music video we’ve all been asking for?

 

1) Chairlift – Met Before

“No One Survives” was going to be my number one, easily, until I saw this video two days ago.  You know how I said earlier that it was hard to find a good music video these days?  It’s even harder to find an innovative one.  The last one I remember is “We Used to Wait” by Arcade Fire.

That’s why, what Chairlift did with this video really catapulted it into the #1 spot (it didn’t hurt that this is a favorite song of mine).

Enjoy the choose your own adventure music video everyone.  I have a feeling you may be at this for a while, so I’ll say my goodbyes here, I’ll see you tomorrow with my top 5 new artists:

http://www.chairlifted.com/metbefore/ I can’t embed this one, so click now!

2 Responses to “Top 5 Music Videos of 2012”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ashley’s Top Albums of 2012: 10-1 « An Ocean of Noise - 23/12/2012

    […] But, of course, the biggest thing they did was the “Met Before” video, which, I have already lauded with praise as my favorite video of the year. […]

  2. Ashley’s Top 15 Music Videos of 2013 | An Ocean of Noise - 24/12/2013

    […] year I made a list of my favorite music videos from the year and, to be honest, I kinda rushed through it.  This year, I decided that I would do […]

Leave a Reply

