NEWS: David Bowie new album – The Next Day (March 12, 2013)

8 Jan

This is something I…neverever thought I would be writing.

In the early morning hours of January 8th, 2013, on David Bowie’s 66th birthday, it was announced via www.davidbowie.com and the official David Bowie Facebook page that the crazy alien known to us sometimes as Ziggy Stardust, sometimes as Aladdin Sane, and most importantly as Jareth the Goblin King is releasing his Twenty-fifth album in just two short months.

As if this weren’t more than the world could possibly bare so suddenly, the lead single was also posted, complete with music video:

(Updated with a Youtube link, if it goes down, I’ll try and find another.)

It’s been quite a while since Reality, which was released in 2003, and most of the music world had begun to believe we’d seen the end of the Thin White Duke.

This hits me especially hard in the emotional gut, because this is a year where I have also been blessed with the opportunity to see Fleetwood Mac live.  Two huge musical moments in my life.  If David Bowie tours this album (which I have sincere doubts about), I may not survive 2013.  My heart is just going to explode from happiness.

As it is, I was fairly overcome with emotion, just by hearing his voice.  By the time the song reached its emotional climax, “As long as there’s me/As long as there’s you”, I had pretty much started crying from joy.  Yeah, it’s a horribly nerdy admission, I confess, but I can’t deny how happy I am.  My love of David Bowie had surged to an all-time high in the last two or three months, and with it, my despair at the idea that he was never going to release another album, let along tour.  Now that the impossible has become (for lack of a better word) reality, I can’t help but believe, even a little, that I may just see David Bowie live…someday.

I’ll leave you all to the wonderful music of David Bowie, I’m sure I’ll be back with more news, very soon.

Pre-Order The Next Day on iTunes – Standard; Deluxe

Buy “Where Are We Now?” on iTunes – Click Here

One Response to “NEWS: David Bowie new album – The Next Day (March 12, 2013)”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Review – David Bowie – The Next Day | An Ocean of Noise - 02/03/2013

    […] also feel that “Where Are We Now?” is a reference to this comeback as well, though I have heard that the song is actually referring to […]

Leave a Reply

