Album Review: Sonic Youth – EVOL

10 Jan

:hitsplay:

1. Tom Violence – To me, this sounds like a Joy Division/Cure ripoff trying to be Pink Floyd. Not impressed so far.

2. Shadow Of A Doubt – breathy, female Joy Division ripoff.  :/

3. Starpower – More of the same. This song tries to be upbeat.

4. In The Kingdom #19 – Wait, this was a visionary band or something? Did anyone actually listen to these guys? Oy. I’d rather listen to Joy Divison.

5. Green Light – The guitars are out of tune on purpose? Thanks, Wikipedia. Doesn’t help that they can’t make it work. I listen to this and I just don’t like it. I should listen to Tré Cool when he slags off a band.

6. Death To Our Friends – Halfway through. I can’t even make fun of this for being bad. The drums are okay, but the out-of-tune guitars are annoying.

7. Secret Girl – I don’t get art rock. I don’t know why I bother listening to this crap. Hey, no out-of-tune guitars on this one. It might actually be listenable, if the chick’s voice wasn’t awful.

8. Marilyn Moore – The screaming reminds me of BrokeNCYDE. That’s right, I said BrokeNCYDE. The dude can sing. Well, his voice doesn’t sound like gravel in a blender at least. Who’s up for Unknown Pleasures after this? *raises hand*

9. Madonna, Sean, And Me – Seven minutes? And me without alcohol to enhance the experience, skeet skeet. I know the 80’s were a weird time, but WTF is Sonic Youth supposed to be anyway? I don’t like it, I don’t understand it, and I can’t believe this band was actually a big deal.

1/5. HMH-worthy. Blegh.

5 Responses to “Album Review: Sonic Youth – EVOL”

  1. Axver 10/01/2010 at 23:54 #

    So I see you too have discovered Sonic Youth aren’t half what they’re cracked up to be.

    (Though, for the record, Evol isn’t one of the 3 SY albums I’ve listened to, and I’m aware they’ve had their share of stylistic changes.)

    • zzz 03/01/2011 at 22:16 #

      this is one of the best albums ever.

      if you don’t get it then, well, you just dont get it.

      the guitars arnt out of tune, they are using weird tunings…

      the songs are just wonderful…

      the final track (actually called expressway to yr skull) was called the greatest guitar song of all time by neil young.

      its just a brilliant album and your reviews are just very lazy and sound like someone who has no clue about music, indie music history and the influence an album like this had on a whole generation of indie bands and squat slackers like me..its a soundtrack to a way of life…

      joy division were a great band too but they sound nothing like sonic youth, they dont share sonic sensibilities or attitude…

      i could go on but as i said, you either get it or you dont….

      • SLCPunk 03/01/2011 at 23:47 #

        You’re right, I don’t get it. I said so in my review. It’s my opinion, nothing more. I did not like this album. I do not like Sonic Youth, if this is what they sound like. Your comment is your opinion, which I respect. Please respect mine.

  2. kwip 11/10/2011 at 10:06 #

    cool story bro this album rocks

  3. raggedglory 14/03/2012 at 14:33 #

    You’re just obsessed with Joy Division man

Leave a comment